Skip navigation

YesCymru Statement

Following YesCymru's recent Annual General Meeting, the four officers of the Central Committee have resigned their posts - Iestyn ap Rhobert (Chair), Rhydian Hughes (Vice-Chair), Moelwen Gwyndaf (Secretary) and Gweirydd ap Gwyndaf (Treasurer).

YesCymru would like to thank them all for the enormous amount of work and commitment they have given to the cause of Welsh independence. They have played an important role in the work of the Central Committee, which has taken YesCymru from an idea into a national campaign, leading the surge in support for Welsh independence.

Three of the remaining committee members will now share the officer roles in a triumvirate on a temporary basis. In two months time we will hold an Extraordinary General Meeting with the sole purpose of appointing a full and newly elected committee of 16 members. We will open nominations for all 16 positions in the coming weeks, and give plenty of notice to our members of this, and of the arrangements for the EGM.

In our recent AGM we agreed to consult with the members on the proposed changes to our constitution, and to hold an EGM to vote on the changes separately rather than in one motion. Due to these unforeseen circumstances, we will be forced to postpone this process until a full committee is appointed. One of the first tasks of the new committee will be to consult with the members and hold a further EGM on matters regarding the constitution.

As YesCymru continues to grow, we aim to develop and strengthen the new constitution with the help of our members, to make YesCymru fit for purpose as a member-led, grassroots, mass-member organisation. During this new chapter of YesCymru, we also aim to make the Central Committee more transparent and more answerable to our members and local groups.

We'd like to once again thank the officers who have departed for all their work.

Through strength and unity we will achieve our goal of an independent Wales.

The YesCymru Central Committee,

  • Tricia Roberts
  • Dilys Davies
  • Leon Russell
  • Matthew Ford
  • Gwyn Llewelyn

Continue Reading

Read More

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.